Yummy Homemade Pancakes

I know I’ve been away for a while, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been experimenting in the kitchen! I have wanted to try my hand at making homemade pancakes for a while now, and I finally made some time to do it. I made a batch of plain pancakes as well as a batch of cinnamon pancakes. Below are the ingredients I used:

ingredients

2 cups of all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon of pure vanilla

1 egg

4 tablespoons of sugar

3 1/2 tablespoons of baking powder

3 tablespoons of melted butter

1 1/4 cup of milk

1/2 teaspoon of salt

cinnamon (I did not measure)

I started by mixing the egg, milk, butter, and salt. Then, I mixed in the baking powder, flour, sugar, and vanilla. I originally used 1 1/2 cups of flour, and I did not like the consistency. I prefer a slightly thicker batter, so I added an extra half a cup.

plain batter

I heated my pan, and lightly oiled it with virgin olive oil. You may use whatever oil you prefer. I have found that using an ice cream scoop creates near perfect pancakes. It also makes it easier for my girls to use when helping cook them.

frying pancakes

I let the pancakes cook for about one minute per side.* Okay, so I got a little impatient and had to let some sides cook a little longer than others because I chose to flip them too early. What can I say? The wonderful aroma that filled my kitchen was too much for me. 🙂 I was able to make 16 delicious plain and cinnamon pancakes from using this recipe. I can’t wait to experiment with different flavored pancakes in the future. To my surprise, my girls thoroughly enjoyed our pancake breakfast, and are looking forward to our next one!

plain and cinnamon pancakes

Leave a Reply

