For Better or Worse

“Do you take this man to be your lawfully wedded husband, for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, as long as you both shall live?”

“I do.” I said, suddenly realizing the significance of the words I uttered. I had practiced saying those two little words countless times. Yet, never did they such carry so much weight before that moment.

For three years, I attended chapel services at Chatham Hall, an all-girl boarding school. Yet, I missed attending church services like the ones from back home. So, Mrs. Hunt, the awesome switchboard attendant at the time, recommended that I attend church with Dorothy Gilbert, one of her good friends. And so it began. Life as I knew it was about to change.

My husband and I met at church when we were fifteen years old. I was the bashful boarding school girl who wore clothing two sizes too big, and my husband was the local “chick magnet” who played the keyboard for his church. Luckily for me, I didn’t need a boyfriend at the time. All I needed was Jesus. And that’s exactly what I told this young, inquisitive “chick magnet”.

Unfortunately, the annual formal was approaching, and I had no date. I only knew of three guys I could ask to accompany me, but asking just wasn’t my style. I mean, I grew up believing it was the guy’s job to ask the girl out–not the other way around. Besides, my parents never entertained the idea of me dating while I was home. Therefore, I knew the odds of them approving a courtship while at boarding school would be near impossible. So, I did what I knew best: I prayed about it.

“Lord, if You want me to have a date, show me who to ask.”

At that moment, my eyes were opened. The first things I noticed about that good-looking keyboard player were his dreamy eyes, and his long, beautiful eyelashes. Yet, how could I ask him out? “There is NO way this guy is single,” I thought to myself. And I was right. However, he failed to mention that small detail at the time. But that’s another story.

I had no clue how to ask out a guy. I mean, I was literally shaking in my boots. I guess that’s how some guys feel when asking out a girl. After church one day, I went over to the keyboard player and said, “Hi, Big Head.” Fortunately, he laughed. After telling him about the upcoming formal, I asked if he would like to come. “Yeah, I can do that.” he replied.

Who knew that this dance proposal would lead to a marriage proposal, three children, and fourteen plus years together? I would be lying if I said these past ten years have been filled with nothing but marital bliss. There have been arguments, silent treatments, and days when we couldn’t stand each other. Yet, in those moments, I have to think of the vows I made before God, my husband, and our witnesses. I take that commitment very seriously. The line “for better or worse” is not for the faint of heart. I have learned this from personal experience. Divorce seems like such a convenient option for many these days, but not for us. We know our marriage was ordained by God before the beginning of time. I’ve rather enjoyed growing older with my beau and making memories. We go together like milk and cereal, like peanut butter and jelly, or like Mr. Incredible and Elastigirl. I can honestly say there is no one else I’d rather live this life with, and I look forward to the next 100 years!

image

2 thoughts on “For Better or Worse

Leave a Reply

