The Power of One

Too often, I hear people say, “Well you know, one person doesn’t really matter. Power comes in numbers.” Whoever said “one person can’t make a difference” obviously never knew my friend, Angie. Angie was the kind of person who consistently made a remarkable impression upon others. Her smile, her laugh, and her positive energy were contagious. Angie could make a room light up with her smile alone. If you were ever feeling down, I guarantee that after five minutes with Angie, you couldn’t help but smile and laugh. She was truly an angel.

I can remember having a rough day some years ago. I was extremely stressed. I felt like I couldn’t keep up. Marriage, motherhood, and work just seemed like too much to handle. After venting, Angie told me, “Well, Quette, I know how you feel. Things seem tough, but you have to remember God won’t put more on you than you can bear.” Instead of allowing me to wallow in my sorrows, she reminded me that God has given me everything I need to survive. She reminded me that I am strong despite life’s challenges. That’s the kind of person Angie was. She knew just the right thing to say to help you through your storm.

Sadly, I received news that Angie passed last week. She was unfortunately a victim of domestic violence. I was so devastated after hearing the news. No one should have to die as a result of domestic violence. Prior to Angie’s death, I never knew how prominent domestic violence really is in the United States. According to Safe Horizon, most domestic violence incidents are never reported. In fact, 1 out of 4 women experience domestic abuse, as well as nearly 3 million men. Safe Horizon also estimates 1 out of 3 women are murdered by their current or previous abuser. If you or someone you know is suffering from domestic abuse, you can always call the domestic violence hotline. If you want to help raise awareness about domestic abuse, you can also make a one-time contribution or monthly donations to local and national organizations such as The Giving Society.

It amazes me how after dealing with her own hardships throughout life, Angie still kept a smile on her face, she still encouraged others, and she still showed love and compassion to all she met. As I read through the messages left on her Facebook page, I am sure that Angie made a difference in the lives of many. There were so many who left accounts of beautiful memories they shared with her over the years. Although she lived a short life, Angie accomplished a lot. She was a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother, a friend, and so much more. She influenced so many lives, and will be desperately missed by her three beautiful children, her father and mother, her sister, her grandparents, and a host of friends and relatives.

Despite what others may tell you, don’t underestimate the power of one. You may feel that no one cares about you, and that no one would miss you if you were gone. I beg to differ. Life would not be the same without you. You are special and powerful. You may be the one person who can be a light for your family. You may be the one person who can save someone else from a path of destruction. You may be the one person to inspire others to fulfill their dreams. One person can make a difference. One person can change their family, their community, their nation, and even the world. I know this because Angie definitely changed mine.

Angie

Leave a Reply

