Be Careful What You Wish For

There’s an old saying that if you want to hear God laugh, tell Him what you have planned. When my husband and I got married, we talked about where we would like to live, and most importantly, where we never wanted to live. For both of us, Atlanta and its surrounding areas were on the “never gonna move there” list. It just seemed so busy, fast, and wild. When raising a family, we preferred something more subdued, quiet, yet thriving. Lo and behold, my husband received a promotion. He would become a store manager in Lilburn, GA, an area right outside Atlanta. God has an amazing sense of humor. 🙂

So, has life been utterly unbearable since moving to Georgia? No. In fact, our eyes have been opened to the many opportunities we did not have by living in the good old rural parts of South Carolina. Our children have thrived academically and socially. I became a soccer mom (minus the van), and enjoyed every moment of it. We’ve made some great friends, and my middle daughter finally found herself a best friend. I’ve grown personally and professionally in ways I could never have imagined. Overall, life has been truly a blessing.

It’s been four years since we moved to Georgia, and we just received the news last month that my husband is being transferred back to South Carolina. I never thought I would say this, but I’m torn. I’ve come to love and embrace what life has to offer my family here in Georgia, but moving will definitely make us closer to both of our families. What I have learned in this entire experience is that God truly does know best, and I should be careful what I pray for! 🙂 Although I am a bit apprehensive about moving again, I am going to trust that moving is just a part of God’s wonderful plan for my family.

Leave a Reply

