Stuck Like Glue

As I sit here typing, my one year old is lying on me, stuck like glue. I don’t know if it is because I am getting older or because I am sure Madison is the last of the Gilbert clan, but things don’t bother me as much this time around. Take breastfeeding for example. When others find out that I am still nursing, I receive mixed expressions. There are those who look at me bewildered. “So, you’re STILL nursing, huh?” Then, there are ones who look so amazed. “Oh my gosh, that’s awesome!”

Honestly, I must admit that I’m being sort of a hypocrite here. I used to think there was this little magic clock that said after your baby turned one, that was it. Breastfeeding would officially be over. I wasn’t able to produce enough to breastfeed my first daughter, but after a lot of hard work, I was able to nurse my second daughter for twelve and a half months! I was so happy and proud. I really didn’t have to do anything special to help the weaning process commence. She just had enough, I guess. Yet, this time around, my little lady is 15 months old, and going strong. I don’t see her stopping anytime soon.

So, when is the right time to wean a child? The answer varies. Each woman knows what she can and cannot handle. Each woman knows what’s best for her and her baby. Trust me, I could go on and on about the benefits of breastfeeding. Many people know about the benefits for the baby; however, many are clueless about the health benefits for the mom. For example, the National Cancer Institute believes the chances of developing ovarian cancer are greatly reduced by the length of time a woman breastfeeds.

At the end of the day, if you can say your child is healthy, that is all that matters. We need to end the war between breastfeeding moms and those who choose to formula feed their child. Here’s a video I saw on a friend’s timeline recently. It really made me laugh and think about things.

Some women want to breastfeed, and are not able to do so for a variety of reasons. Then, there are the powerhouse women who make enough to feed a village. I’m just glad I am fortunate enough to share in this experience, and create lasting memories with my daughter. Do I ever get tired of her being “glued to the boob”? Sure! Yet, I’m choosing to enjoy being stuck like glue to one of the precious gifts God gave our family.

Leave a Reply

