Turkey Surprise, My, Oh My!

Today was one of those days where I absolutely did NOT want to go to the grocery store. It was rather cold, and I did not want to endure an eventful shopping experience with all three of my daughters. So, I looked in my cupboard, and prayed for inspiration to come up with something for dinner! I had a few potatoes left, a little ground turkey, and some veggies. I looked online, and came across an easy turkey skillet recipe by Jennie-O. Of course I didn’t have all of the ingredients for the recipe, but it did inspire me to create a dish that my family raved about tonight!

I started with my ingredients: 3 yellow potatoes, 1/4 of an onion, 3 garlic cloves, 1/4 yellow pepper, thyme, bay leaves, seasoning salt, black pepper, onion powder, 1 can of reduced sodium chicken broth (1 didn’t need the second can pictured below), and 1.5 pounds of ground turkey.

turkey ingredients turkey alone

After browning the turkey, I put the garlic, onions, and pepper inside. I turned down the heat a little while I sliced the potatoes. After adding the potatoes, I seasoned everything with the seasoning salt, a dash of regular salt, pepper, thyme, basil leaves, and onion powder. Then, I poured one can of reduced sodium chicken broth inside. I covered the pot with a lid, and allowed everything to cook for 15 minutes.

turkey pot

I must admit I was rather nervous about my concoction; however, when that wonderful aroma began to fill my kitchen, I had no doubt that my family would be in for a treat! It reminded me a little of Olive Garden’s potato soup. I had no idea it would be so successful. Therefore next time, I will double the recipe. 🙂 Give it a try, and let me know what you think!

turkey finished

Leave a Reply

