Gratin Dauphinois

Well, the girls and I have really been cooking up a storm lately! We finally had the chance to try the French potato dish I mentioned a few weeks ago, and I’ll share our experience with you. We began with our ingredients: 5 yellow potatoes, 1 cup of milk, 2 cups of Swiss cheese, 2 tablespoons of butter, salt, pepper, 3 cloves of garlic, and 7-8 sprigs of thyme.

grain ingredients

After gathering the ingredients, we rubbed a garlic clove all around the bowl. Then, we rubbed the butter around the bowl, too. Next, I showed the girls how to slice the potatoes. I absolutely LOVE my slicer I invested in two years ago. Slicing the potatoes was done quickly, and each slice was the same size.

grain Grace

After slicing, we layered the potatoes, thyme, salt, pepper, and Swiss cheese until we used all of the ingredients. Then, we poured a cup of boiling milk over the mixture.

grain prepped

We placed the dish in the oven at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. I think it took so long because I didn’t use a long baking dish. Had I done that, the layers would have probably cooked more evenly. At any rate, it was a great change of pace, and my girls loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again. The next time, however, I will substitute Gruyère (an imported French cheese) in place of Swiss cheese. I hope you enjoy this easy, tasty dish! 🙂

Leave a Reply

