Cooking with the Gilberts

Well, it’s been a while. My girls and I have been experimenting in the kitchen with some new recipes, and I thought I would share one of them with you. Last week, I read through a variety of Ratatouille recipes, and I combined some things here and there to create my spin. Unfortunately, the store I went to was out of eggplant, so I will have to try this recipe again and incorporate that missing element! Any who, the ingredients we used were: 2 squash, 2 zucchini, 1/2 onion, 4 garlic cloves, 1 whole tomato, 1 orange pepper, 1 yellow paper, thyme, salt, pepper, onion powder, and olive oil. For the spices, we kept tasting and adding throughout the cooking experience.

Rata ingredients

I apologize for the photography. My phone died, and I had to use the girls’ iPod. 🙂 The girls enjoyed helping me cut the vegetables. We turned the pot on medium heat, and placed about 5 tablespoons of olive oil in it. After the pan heated the oil, we placed the garlic and onions inside. Once they cooked, we placed the orange and yellow peppers inside, then the tomato. I almost could have used another half or so of a tomato. Unlike some recipes I saw, we did not take out the seeds or the insides of the tomato.

rata saute

The aroma in our kitchen was simply D-I-V-I-N-E! Once these ingredients softened, we placed the squash and zucchini inside. Ideally, I would have liked to bake the squash and zucchini on top of the tomatoes, etc.; however, I may try this next time.

rata pot

We covered the pot, stirred occasionally, and allowed the ingredients to cook for 20 minutes. Once the dish was done, we placed the Ratatouille on top of rice. I was in such a rush to feed my loving hubby that I completely forgot about using the Parmesan cheese on top. Lol! At any rate, it was quite tasty, and I will definitely make this one again. I’m sure the girls would love to watch the movie while eating the fruits of their labor. 🙂

rata finished

Leave a Reply

