Experimenting with New Combinations

December 30, 2014

Well, I decided to try out a new recipe today. After watching so many episodes of MasterChef, I felt inspired to try something different. I like to think Google is my friend, so I searched for recipes I liked using chicken and pineapples. I found an easy chicken casserole on cooks.com. I tweaked it a bit. I seasoned my chicken with onion powder, salt, black pepper, and some herb chicken seasoning. I then squeezed half of an orange all over the chicken legs.

20141230_161632

Then, I put two cups of brown rice into the pan, and placed the chicken on top of it. The recipe called for 4.5 cups total of water, pineapple, and pineapple juice; however, I substituted water for chicken broth, and I added a little more than 4.5 cups of liquid. I also felt like adding more orange juice, so I squeezed the remaining orange half into the mixture, too.

20141230_162058

Then, I poured the entire mixture over the chicken and rice, and baked it uncovered at 350 degrees for a little over an hour.

20141230_162937

I think I may have put too much liquid in the casserole because the original recipe called for up to an hour of baking time. I needed a little more time than that; however, I think it ended up being left in a little too long! Although the combination of flavors did not suit my taste buds, my husband and three daughters seemed to enjoy it. My middle child does not like chicken, so to see her request additional chicken was quite interesting. My husband said he liked the new change. If I decide to make this again, I would probably change out the brown rice for white rice.

20141230_190043

What new recipe have you tried lately?

Leave a Reply

