I Choose to Love

With all of the hatred and violence going on today, it can be scary to walk out of your front door with confidence that you’ll return home. It amazes me that in 2014, we still encounter racism and hatred at such an intolerable level. Senseless, horrifying deaths are accumulating faster than the average savings account. What is going on in our world?

To me, I think the Beatles said it best, “All we need is love.” It is amazing how children can play so peacefully with one another…regardless of skin color or any other physical feature. Why can’t adults do the same? What happens to make us change?

We cannot assume all people who look alike will behave in the same manner. That would be unfair. If someone hurts us in any manner, we cannot generalize our experience to an entire gender or ethnicity. In fact, we are no better than the person who wronged us if we choose to mistreat others all because they remind us of someone else. The Bible teaches us that love covers a multitude of sin. I think the world could truly experience a much needed change if we learned to love one another in spite of our differences. I cannot change anyone else. I am only responsible for my own behavior. Instead of hatred, slandering, and violence, I choose to love.

Leave a Reply

